Swimming. Dosa. Bliss?

Swimming. Dosa. Bliss?

So today I couldn’t get anyone to come swimming in the afternoon (so many commitments!) so I did other work in the afternoon (including writing this blog). But then people wanted to go in the evening – Vijayanagar Swimming Pool also has a slot from 7:15 to 8:05 or so – and I was, obviously, in.

This is the first time I’ve gone in the night. Its definitely more expensive: thrice the afternoon rate. Its also more crowded. I’m going to try and go in the afternoon but honestly I so needed this. I now feel refreshed and rejuvenated and alive. Plus the pool looked really pretty in the night.

Night Swim
The pool at night.

Sorry for the terrible quality – apparently, you’re not actually supposed to take pictures there (err … not exactly a policy I mind). I swam about 500 metres – stopping only for breathing breaks for 20 breadths. 30 minutes or so. I feel so pleasantly sore now. Though I would love to be better (already, my mind is moving to competitive swimming), I know that I have to take it slow and enjoy it and not behave like I have something to prove to anyone except myself. The exercise is the crucial part.

Also, luckily, today was dosa day in the mess for dinner. We came back just in time for dinner and enjoyed a repast. I love how dosa is so easily incorporated into a healthy diet – it’s delicious, low-cal, eaten with nutrient rich sambhar, and … did I mention delicious? I struggled a bit at the end of two dosas because I was still ravenous (gah, wasting calories on empty carbs earlier in the day) so I had curd – but since I couldn’t stomach eating it plain a “spoonful of sugar made the medicine go down”. Absolutely delicious meal.

Dosa Dinner
Mess food. Not totally terrible.

I think maybe when I think of living a fit, healthy college life, I’m thinking of days like this.

Now to get some work done.

Leave a Reply

